Press Kit

Turning Plates are a Glasgow-based post rock quintet who came together to create new soundscapes and introduce fresh textures to contemporary music.

Since their formation in 2011 the band's releases have garnered critical acclaim. Their first single 'The Tin Man' won Playmusic Magazine's Award for Best Production of 2011 and their EP 'Escapism' was listed as Number 13 in The Herald's Top 50 Albums of 2012.

With several prestigious shows under their belt, including tours throughout both the UK and the East Coast of America during Hurricane Sandy, 2014 has seen the band release their long-awaited debut album. With an altogether much more mature sound than their previous work, the album is a collection of tales about wilderness, discovery and isolation. These stories are used as a metaphor, the underlying concept being a commentary on the development of the internet and the unprecedented effects it has had on society.


Turning Plates are:

  • Duncan Sutherland – Vocals and Guitar,
  • Jason Matthews – Piano, Clarinet, Synth and Bass Guitar
  • Jackie Baxter – Cello and Piano
  • Tom Smith – Trombone, Violin and Synth
  • Stephen Coleman – Drums and Percussion




The Shouting Cave - Free Downloads

Turning Plates are delighted to announce their self-released début album, The Shouting Cave, part funded by Creative Scotland, is out now.

The Shouting Cave is a concept album that explores the effect of the Internet on Society. The band argue that the Internet is the purest reflection of humanity, a world built entirely of our own thoughts, emotions and desires - “a sea to float our dreams”, as described in the album track 'The Human Isle'. What do we see in that reflection? Have we stopped to think? The album explores these questions by portraying the Internet as a new wilderness into which we are born, telling individual stories within the overarching theme.

These tracks are free to embed and to download as you wish. If you would like a full copy of the album for review purposes please get in touch.


Escapism EP Download

This is a free download for review purposes only, please do not share without the express permission of the band. Right click and choose 'Save Link As', or your browser's equivalent:

Full EP:

Individual Tracks:

  1. Introit
  2. Our Great Escape
  3. An Die Musik
  4. Wishing Well
  5. Painted
  6. An Inexplicable Trend



Video Stills


Notable Venues